After the Snowfall at the Evergreen Brick Works

Brick Works in the Snow

Brick Works in the Snow, Feb. 9, 2013

Yesterday and the night before we got 25 – 30 cm of snow in Toronto.  This was the most significant snowfall we’ve had this year, and the most we’ve had in the past five.  Last year we shockingly had only a dusting here and there.

Brick Works in Snow

Evergreen Brick Works, after a snowfall in Toronto, Feb. 9, 2013

 I went out walking in the storm yesterday.  I loved seeing the fresh snow and felt a sudden sense of loss because snows like this used to be regular occurrences and not the big deal this one seemed.  I was then glad I could feel love for snow, something that I didn’t realize I strongly felt.  And glad I could feel this before snow becomes even more rare than it is now, as it seems it will.

Brick Works in Snow

Shadows and a snow covered pond at the Brick Works, Feb. 9, 2013

 Today my husband and I went to the Evergreen Brick Works to take advantage of the beautiful sights I felt awaited us at this former industrial site turned into a sanctuary of sorts.  We weren’t disappointed.  Here are some of the photos I took. 

Snow at the Brick Works

Blue/purple shadows on the snow, Evergreen Brick Works, Toronto, Feb. 9, 2013.

Leave a Reply

